PURE RAW HONEY
PURE

Pure stands for the varietal (monofloral) purity of our honeys. Our varietal honey is attested by pollen analysis. All of our active honeys fulfill the purity criteria. Our honeys are also free of added sugars and pesticides.

RAW

Raw stands for our raw product. Honey is a heterogenous natural product and is therefore always a little different from batch to batch. We love both the honesty of this characteristic and this quality of an unadulterated raw product. We aim to pass raw traits on to our customers with the least intervention possible.

HONEY

Honey is derived from a recipe that bees have perfected over millions of years. Bees’ interaction with nature has yielded the most complex and nutritious sweetener one could ever ask for. The less we impose our influence on this product, the more the chef’s recipe is honored.

MANUKA

Manuka honey (Leptospermum Scoparium) represents a new hope in the fight against antibiotic-resistant and stubborn bacteria. Through intensive research in New Zealand and Germany, (the substance) methylglyoxal (MGO) was found in significantly detectable amounts. The methylglyoxal in conjunction with hydrogen peroxide probably contains the secret to the properties that make Manuka honey so unique compared to other honeys.

QSI-CERTIFIED

Our Manuka honey has been tested twice in New Zealand and Germany by independent laboratories (Analytica and QSI Quality Services International). Our honeys are free from contamination. We place great emphasis on delivering a quality that satisfies the highest of standards.

MGO 100

MANUKA MGO 100 from the mountains and valleys of the Wairarapa region. The beginner of active Manuka honeys in our range for the medicine cabinet. Our customers like to apply this honey to the affected areas to alleviate skin problems. The certified methylglyoxal concentration is at least 100 mg / kg.

MGO 250

The healthy midfield among the Manuka honeys. Our customers enjoy this honey pure or in tea to effectively combat colds. The certified methylglyoxal concentration is at least 250 mg / kg.

MGO 400

Manuka MGO 400 is the top class among the Manuka honeys. The unique purity from Wairarapa, New Zealand offers many beneficial applications - so lovers enjoy pure honey with 1-2 tsp per day. Unadulterated and unencumbered with a methylglyoxal concentration of at least 400 mg / kg.

MGO 800

White flowers lie on the slopes, the wind cuts through rugged rock formations of the young mountains on the east coast. The soil is dry and the rainfall is irregular. But this is exactly where nature lets its impenetrable miracle play. In some rare years, the Manuka shrubs produce nectar, which the bees convert into honey with a methylgyoxal concentration of over 800 mg / kg.

ABOUT MADHU & MANUKA

WHAT MAKES
MANUKA UNIQUE

Due to intense research conducted in New Zealand and Germany alike, the active compound by the name of methylglyoxal was discovered in significantly higher amounts within Manuka honey compared to other types of honey. Methylglyoxal in combination with hydrogen peroxide likely holds the secret to the attributes that make Manuka honey truly so unique.

The Origin of Madhu

The name Madhu has its origins in Sanskrit, one of the oldest written languages in the world, and means sweet or honey. Madhu to this day provides the base for many Indo-European words related to honey, such as mead, met, miel, medus, miod, just to name a few. Madhu is also the second name of the founder of Madhu Honey – Matthew Sri Madhusudana Pettersson. Thus, it was clear and obvious that we would market our honey under the name of Madhu Honey.

From the Bee
To the Comb
Into the Glass Jar

ABOUT US

The Story of
Madhu Honey

A Magic Moment

It all began in September 2013 in a small studio apartment in New York. Matthew “Madhu” Petterson had just returned from a long journey to Thailand. Fall was in the air, and the afternoon sun hung low in the sky over the East Village, filling 1st Street and 1st Avenue with its warm light. With his hands full of luggage and a large trekking rucksack on his back, he entered the flat of his friend Shawn – and came to a sudden halt in the doorway, right in front of his eyes something incredible was happening. The sun was shining through the window onto the kitchen table, illuminating a huge crystal jar that was somehow managing to fill the entire room with bright golden yellow patterns. What was in this mysterious container?

An Extraordinary Gift

The jar was filled with an amber-colored creamy substance, its natural radiance intensified by the glow of the afternoon sun. It was honey, and not just any honey! What Matthew was looking at was a full 25 kilos in a single jar. Where on earth does someone get so much honey in New York? And who had had the idea to bottle such an amount? It turned out that Shawn’s father had launched himself into beekeeping four years ago, and ever since was regularly sending jars of honey to his son. What an extraordinary gift! And as Matthew was blinking in the golden light, an idea started to form in his head.

Following the Honey

In spring 2014, only a few months after that enlightening moment in Shawn’s apartment, Matthew embarked on a new journey by joining an organic beekeeping farm in Germany. Driven by his curiosity and by the joy he found in his newly discovered passion he decided to continue his studies even through the winter months. He travelled to New Zealand where summer had just begun to learn more about bees and honey. There, not only did he get introduced to the unique honey originating from the flowers of the native Manuka tree, he also met fellow beekeeper Phil Vercoe. For weeks, the two of them worked side by side, and once again, it was a friendship that inspired him to take his next step. Thanks to Phil’s support, Matthew succeeded in importing Manuka honey to Germany after only his second beekeeping season in New Zealand.

That’s behind

The appreciation for quality honey, good beekeeping practices, as well as a sound knowledge of product and its origin are what we seek to combine under the brand of Madhu Honey.

Madhu Honey is a lean company with passionate members. We believe that honey is only as good as all parties involved in the chain of production. Therefore, we work directly and in close relationship with the apiary and oversee transportation needs and warehousing ourselves. We also appoint IFS- and HACCP-certified and trusted quality packers within close proximity to where we are based. One only knows the honey if one knows the apiary, the region, and all the hands involved from source to packaging.

The Origin

Over the course of a few seasons as a beekeeper, Madhu had been able to develop a network of beekeepers in New Zealand. When good friend Bennet Riemeier finally joined in on the business idea, the company Madhu Honey was born, specializing in the marketing of quality Manuka honey. We buy the honey directly, take care of all transportation issues and sell it under our Madhu Honey brand. Only if we are able to truly trace the origins of our honey, can we then confidently live up to our quality assurance and the promises that Manuka Honey makes to its customers, while advocating our PURE RAW HONEY philosophy.

Manuka Honey

Honey from the Tea Tree

The broom-like shrub known by many as the tea tree has many names, and there are over 30 different types of tea tree. In New Zealand, we mainly differentiate between Manuka (Leptospermum Scoparium) and Kanuka (Kunzea Ericoidis). These two shrubs look similar at first sight; however, upon closer inspection, flowers and leaves can be told apart. In some areas of New Zealand, Kanuka is more prevalent than Manuka and vice versa. These close relatives can oftentimes be found together or in close proximity to one another, with bees collecting from both sources and turning both nectars into honey. The scent, flavor, and consistency of a pure Kanuka and a pure Manuka are identical. Moreover, the pollen from both varieties under a microscope cannot be differentiated. This fact testifies to their apparent close relationship. Manuka is, after all, a Maori word which is often used to describe the whole tea tree family in New Zealand. A clear definition has only recently been established.

Why Manuka Honey?

Due to intense research conducted in New Zealand and Germany alike, the active compound by the name of methylglyoxal was discovered in significantly higher amounts within Manuka honey compared to other types of honey. Methylglyoxal in combination with hydrogen peroxide likely holds the secret to the attributes that make Manuka honey truly so unique. However, it is important to note that a natural product can never solely be limited to its compounds. Oftentimes it is the general makeup and the synergy of the compounds and consistency that leads to the benefits we so desire. Perhaps now it simple to understand how important it is to not alter the traits of a pure raw honey, in order to ensure its beneficial qualities. If we break down the ingredients of honey, we will arrive at roughly the following figures:

80% sugars (glucose, fructose and other types of sugars), 17% water, and 3% enzymes, minerals, vitamins, and hormones. It is however exactly this 3% that makes all the difference in regular sweeteners. If we were to isolate all these active ingredients in this 3%, we would arrive at packs of sugar, pills, and supplements. Another fact, however, is that our intestines are limited in their absorption of these nutrients, lacking an adequate carrier. Even worse, in the example of refined sugar, such compounds can even be harmful to our system. Honey is therefore not only a complex and easily digestible boost of natural energy, but is also the perfect carrier with the ideal consistency to hold the nutrients our intestine can actually absorb.

Thus, honey is an ancient and yet, as confirmed by research, a new product. Manuka honey has shed new light onto the perfected recipe of bees and has, due to its many properties, not only become appreciated as a delicious sweetener but become regarded as a food fit for the gods. Manuka has revived this dormant knowledge of honey’s relieving and soothing qualities and has thus been much-heralded around the globe.

What is Real Manuka Honey?

The broad perception of Manuka honey in laboratories worldwide today is that Manuka honey is a honey that tastes, looks, and smells like Manuka honey and possesses significant amounts of methylglyoxal and dihydroxyacetone and leptosperin (unique to Manuka). This inevitably includes the Manuka-Kanuka blends as well. These shrubs are geographically exclusive in only a few instances. The bees are not picky and enjoy the Manuka/Kanuka shrubs for different reasons. Beekeepers have, contrary to their own beliefs, never been able to dictate the flight path of their bees.

In any case, we provide a strong, spicy, and at times bitter-tasting pure Manuka honey in its natural complex range, with the promised minimum MGO content as indicated on the jar. Our raw product is sometimes darker and sometimes lighter in color, sometimes more liquid and sometimes thicker in consistency, sometimes stronger and at times more balanced, just the way a natural product comes. All these differences make up the characteristics of raw Manuka honey and are still another quality criterion of a heterogenous untampered honey that changes it’s consistency over time.

It is our true and great honor to share our appreciation for honey with our carefully selected assortment in various MGO concentrations with you. The concentration is given in milligrams per kilogram and is tested twice by independent laboratories in New Zealand (Analytica Laboratories) and Germany (Quality Services International in Bremen).

Contact

Data protection information: Your data will be encrypted and sent to our server via https. We use them to answer your request. By using this form, you consent to the storage and processing of your data by this website. Here you will find our data protection notices and revocation notices.

PURE

Pure steht für die Sortenreinheit unserer Honige. Sie werden durch Pollenanalysen bestätigt. Zudem sind unsere Honige frei von eventuell zugeführten Sacchariden sowie Glyphosat, sodass Sie sich sicher sein können, dass sie reinen Honig in den Händen halten.

RAW

Raw steht für Rohware. Honig ist ein Naturprodukt und ist aus diesem Grund in seiner Beschaffenheit immer ein wenig unterschiedlich. Wir lieben diese Ehrlichkeit von Rohware und wollen diese unverändert weitergeben.

HONEY

Honig entsteht aus einem Rezept, welches die Bienen seit Millionen von Jahren perfektioniert haben. Je weniger Einfluss wir auf dieses Produkt ausüben, desto besser wird dieses Produkt entsprechend den Vorstellungen der Bienen, erhalten.

MANUKA

Manuka-Honig (Leptospermum Scoparium) steht für eine neue Hoffnung im Kampf gegen antibiotikaresistente- und hartnäckige Bakterien. Durch intensive Forschungen in Neuseeland und Deutschland, konnte (der Stoff) Methylglyoxal (MGO) in signifikant nachweisbaren Mengen ausfindig gemacht werden. Das Methylglyoxal in Verbindung mit Wasserstoffperoxid enthält wohl das Geheimnis zu den Eigenschaften, welches Manuka-Honig im Vergleich zu anderen Honigen so einzigartig macht.

QSI-ZERTIFIZIERT

Unsere Manuka Honige werden zweifach in Neuseeland und Deutschland von unabhängigen Laboren getestet. Wir legen starken Wert darauf, dass wir eine Qualität liefern, welche den höchsten Ansprüchen genügen können. Unsere Honige sind immer frei von Glyphosat. Unsere Honige werden in Deutschland von dem Labor QSI in Bremen getestet.

MGO 100

MANUKA MGO 100 aus den Bergen und Tälern der Wairarapa Region. Der Einsteiger der aktiven Manuka Honige in unserem Sortiment für die Hausapotheke. Unsere Kunden tragen diesen Honig gerne auf die betroffenen Stellen auf um Hautbeschwerden zu lindern. Die zertifizierte Methylglyoxalkonzentration beträgt mindestens 100 mg/kg.

MGO 250

Das gesunde Mittelfeld unter den Manuka Honigen. Unsere Kunden geniessen diesen Honig pur oder im Tee, um wirksam gegen Erkältungen vorzugehen. Die zertifizierte Methylglyoxalkonzentration beträgt mindestens 250 mg/kg.

MGO 400

Manuka MGO 400 ist die Oberklasse unter den Manuka Honigen. Die einzigartige Reinheit aus Wairarapa, Neuseeland bietet viele wohltuende Anwendungsmöglichkeiten - so genießen Liebhaber den Honig pur mit 1-2 TL pro Tag. Unverfälscht und unbelastet mit einer Methylglyoxalkonzentration von mindestens 400 mg/kg.

ÜBER MADHU & MANUKA

WAS MANUKA
EINZIGARTIG MACHT

Durch intensive Forschungen in Neuseeland und Deutschland, konnte der Stoff Methylglyoxal (MGO) in signifikant nachweisbaren Mengen ausfindig gemacht werden. Das Methylglyoxal in Verbindung mit Wasserstoffperoxid enthält wohl das Geheimnis zu den Eigenschaften, welches Manuka-Honig im Vergleich zu anderen Honigen so einzigartig macht.

Der Ursprung von Madhu

Madhu kommt aus dem Sanskrit – eines der ältesten Schriftsprachen – und bedeutet süss oder Honig. Madhu liefert bis heute das Stammwort für viele indoarische Sprachen wie Met, Miel, Medus, Miod und viele andere. Madhu ist auch der zweite Name von „Matthew Sri Madhusudana Pettersson“ und somit war klar, dass wir Qualitätshonig unter dem Namen Madhu Honey vermarkten wollten …

Von der Biene
zur Wabe
ins Glas

ÜBER UNS

Die Geschichte von Madhu Honey

Ein magischer Moment

Alles begann im September 2013 in einem kleinen New Yorker Studio-Apartment. Matthew „Madhu“ Pettersson kam gerade von einer langen Reise aus Chiang Mai, Thailand zurück. Der Herbst hatte sich angekündigt, die Nachmittagssonne hing tief über dem East Village und tauchte 1st Street und 1st Avenue in ein warmes Licht. Mit Gepäck in der Hand und einem großen Trekking-Rucksack auf dem Rücken betrat er die Wohnung seines Freundes Shawn – und blieb überrascht im Eingang stehen. Vor seinen Augen spielte sich Erstaunliches ab: Die Sonne schien durch die Fenster und brachte ein großes, kristallgläsernes Gefäß zum Strahlen, das auf dem Küchentisch stand und den ganzen Raum in ein leuchtendes, goldgelbes Muster hüllte. Was war nur in diesem Glas?

Ein außergewöhnliches Geschenk

Das Glas war gefüllt mit einer bernsteinfarbenen, cremigen Masse, die im Schein der Sonne noch mehr an Strahlkraft gewann: Honig. Aber was für einer: 25 volle Kilogramm! Wo um alles in der Welt bekam man in New York so viel Honig her? Und wer kam auf die Idee, solch eine Menge abzufüllen? Es stellte sich heraus, dass Shawns Vater vor vier Jahren mit dem Imkern begonnen hatte und seitdem seinem Sohn regelmäßig ein solches Glas mit Honig nach Hause schickte. Was für ein außergewöhnliches Geschenk! Und während Matthew in das goldgelbe Licht blinzelte, begann ein Gedanke in seinem Kopf zu reifen.

Auf den Spuren des Honigs

Im Frühjahr 2014, nur wenige Monate nach dem erhellenden Erlebnis in Shawns Wohnung, begab sich Matthew erneut auf die Reise. Er stieg bei einer Bio-Imkerei in Deutschland ein. Getrieben von seiner Wissbegierde und seiner Freude an dem neu entdeckten Metier beschloss er, seine Ausbildung auch über die Wintermonate fortzusetzen. Er reiste nach Neuseeland, um im dortigen Sommer noch mehr über Honig und Bienen zu erfahren. Hier lernte er nicht nur den einzigartigen Honig aus der Blüte des heimischen Manuka-Baums kennen, sondern auch den Imker Phil Vercoe. Schulter an Schulter arbeiteten die beiden über Wochen zusammen. Und wieder war es eine Freundschaft, die den Impuls zum nächsten Schritt gab. Denn dank Phils Unterstützung konnte Matthew bereits in seiner zweiten Imkersaison in Neuseeland Manuka-Honig nach Deutschland importieren.

Das steckt dahinter

Unter dem Namen Madhu Honey verbirgt sich die Wertschätzung für Qualitätshonig mit imkerlichen Erfahrungen und einem tiefen Verständnis für das Produkt und seiner Herkunft.

Madhu Honey ist ein junges kleines Unternehmen mit passionierten Mitgliedern. Wir glauben an das Produkt Honig und daran, dass ein guter Honig nur so gut ist, wie alle Mitglieder in der Kette. Aus diesem Grund arbeiten wir eng mit den Imkern zusammen, um die Qualität gewährleisten zu können. Nur wer den Imker und die Region kennt, kennt auch den Honig.

Der Ursprung

Über die Arbeit mehrerer Saisons baute ich ein Netzwerk von Imkern in Neuseeland auf. Als dann mein guter Freund, Bennet Riemeier, in die Geschäftsidee einstieg, wurde die Unternehmung Madhu Honey geboren, die sich auf die Selektion von Manuka Honig spezialisiert hat. Wir kaufen den Honig direkt ein, kümmern uns um alle Belange des Transportwesens und vertreiben diesen Honig unter unserer Marke Madhu Honey. Wir möchten zurückverfolgen, wo unser Honig herkommt. Nur so sind wir in der Lage mit Selbstbewusstsein für die Qualität zu bürgen und dem Versprechen von Pure Raw Honey und Manuka gerecht zu werden.

Manuka Honig

Honig vom Teebaum

Der besenartige Strauch, auch Teebaum genannt, hat viele Namen. Es werden knapp über 30 verschiedene Arten dieses strauchartigen Gewächses unterschieden. In Neuseeland wird hauptsächlich zwischen Manuka und Kanuka unterschieden. Diese beiden Sträucher sehen sich auf den ersten Blick sehr ähnlich, jedoch unterscheiden sich die Blüten und Blätter bei näherem Hinsehen klar voneinander. In bestimmten Regionen Neuseelands wächst vornehmlich der Kanuka-Strauch und in manchen anderen Regionen ist der Manuka-Strauch stärker vertreten. Diese engen Verwandten sind häufig zusammen aufzufinden und somit sammeln die Bienen den Nektar beider Sträucher auf und verarbeiten die Flüssigkeit anschließend zu Honig. Geruch, Geschmack und Konsistenz sind bei einem „reinen“ Manuka Honig und einem „reinen“ Kanuka Honig identisch. Ebenfalls unter dem Mikroskop sind die Pollen nicht voneinander zu trennen – so offensichtlich ist die Verwandtschaft. Innerhalb Neuseelands ist eine Diskussion darüber aufgetreten, was ein „echter“ Manuka Honig sei.

Warum Manuka-Honig?

Durch intensive Forschungen in Neuseeland und Deutschland, konnte der Stoff Methylglyoxal (MGO) in signifikant nachweisbaren Mengen ausfindig gemacht werden. Das Methylglyoxal in Verbindung mit Wasserstoffperoxid enthält wohl das Geheimnis zu den Eigenschaften, welches Manuka-Honig im Vergleich zu anderen Honigen so einzigartig macht. Dabei ist es immer wichtig zu wissen, dass ein Naturprodukt niemals auf nur einen Inhaltsstoff beschränkt werden kann. Häufig ist ein Produkt gerade so förderlich, weil die Synergien von verschiedenen Qualitäten zusammenkommen. Wird Honig in seine Bestandteile zerlegt, dann ist er wie folgt aufgebaut: 

80% Zucker (Glucose, Fructose etc.), 17% Wasser und 3 % aus Enzymen, Mineralien, Vitaminen, Hormonen etc. Es sind aber gerade diese 3%, welche so entscheidend sind und den Unterschied zu anderen Süßungsmitteln machen. Wollten wir diese Bestandteile voneinander isolieren, dann würden wir bei 1000g Zucker, Tabletten und Nahrungsergänzungsmitteln landen. Fakt ist, dass unser Darm diese isolierten Stoffe nicht aufnehmen und verarbeiten kann oder häufig, wie im Beispiel von Zucker, belastet wird. Honig ist somit nicht nur ein komplexer und leicht verdaulicher Energieschub, sondern auch der perfekte Träger mit der perfekten Konsistenz, um viele dieser förderlichen Stoffe an unseren Körper weiterzureichen.

Somit ist Honig ein „altes“ und durch Manuka-Honig auch ein „neues“ Produkt. Manuka-Honig mitsamt der dahinterliegenden Forschung wirft ein neues Licht auf diese von Bienen perfektionierte Rezeptur. Honig wurde in vielen Kulturen nicht nur als Süßungsmittel geschätzt, sondern wurde aufgrund seiner vielen Anwendungsmöglichkeiten als eine göttliche Speise gesehen. Manuka-Honig hat dieses vergessene Wissen um Honig revitalisiert und erfreut sich weltweit größter Beliebtheit.

Was ist ein echter Manuka-Honig?

Die breite Meinung über Manuka-Honig – auch innerhalb der Labore – ist, dass es ein Honig aus Neuseeland ist, der wie Manuka-Honig aussieht, schmeckt und auch den charakteristischen Eigenschaften von Methylglyoxal (MGO) / Dihydroxyaceton (DHA) und Leptosperin (einzigartig für Manuka) aufweist. Dass es sich bei den meisten Manuka-Honigen aus Neuseeland um eine nicht zu unterscheidende Manuka / Kanuka Mischung handelt, ist Fakt. Diese Sträucher lassen sich in nur ganz wenigen Ausnahmen geografisch voneinander trennen. Die Bienen sind nicht wählerisch und lieben diese Sträucher gleichermaßen. Der Imker, so Stolz er sich auch präsentiert, konnte seinen Bienen noch nie wirklich sagen wo sie hinfliegen sollen.

In jedem Falle bekommen Sie bei uns einen stark-, würzig- und zum Teil herben Manuka-Honig, mit all seinen Variationen, aber auf jeden Fall der gewünschten Mindestkonzentration an MGO, welche auf dem Glas ausgewiesen ist. Unser Naturprodukt ist manchmal dunkler und manchmal heller, mal flüssiger mal fester, mal stärker und mal milder, ganz so wie ein rohes Naturprodukt nun mal ist. All diese Unterschiede sind charakteristisch und sind ein weiteres entscheidendes Qualitätsmerkmal von einem heterogenen, unbehandelten Honig.

Es freut uns in der Lage zu sein, unsere Wertschätzung für Honig mit Ihnen teilen zu können und unsere sorgfältig ausgesuchten Manuka-Honige in verschiedenen MGO-Konzentrationen anbieten zu können. Die Konzentration wird in Milligramm pro Kilogramm angegeben und ist zweifach von unabhängigen Laboren in Neuseeland (Analytica Laboratories) und Deutschland (Quality Services International in Bremen) getestet.

Kontakt

Datenschutzhinweise: Ihre Daten werden über https verschlüsselt an unseren Server geschickt. Wir verwenden sie zur Beantwortung Ihrer Anfrage. Mit der Nutzung dieses Formulars erklären Sie sich mit der Speicherung und Verarbeitung Ihrer Daten durch diese Website einverstanden. Hier finden Sie unsere Datenschutzhinweise und Widerrufhinweise.